::GTapex:: - Naturally Aspirated Skills
September 21, 2017, 12:42:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New Cars Coming.. At some point..

Nissan: GT-R, Sky80, BNR32, HCR32, PS13,
Subaru: GC8
Toyota: GX81 MKII, AE86 Levin, TE27
Honda: DC2
VW: RSI

Released: AE86 Trueno, DR30 Skyline, KPGC10 Skyline(Beta)
GTapex Mp3 Player: Launch!

READ THE RULES! They're your friends.. Go Ahead. Read 'em. Even if you dont want to.

FAQ ON USING PARTS FOR RACER : Read this before asking, its probably been answered before.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Lights.DOF problem  (Read 6958 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« on: September 21, 2004, 02:50:12 AM »

Well I've made an FSR Skin for Rwolf's Ae86. Smiley

And would like to add the CF wing to it as FSR is sporting a big ole' wing now-a-days.

I've placed the wing in the Ini

Quote

body
{
   mass=780
   restitution_coeff=0.25
   inertia
   {
      x=1400
      y=1600
      z=400
   }
   model
   {
      file=body.dof
   }
   model_incar
   {
      file=body.dof
   }
   model_braking_l
   {
      file=brakelight.dof
   }
   width=0
   height=0
   length=0
   manual_box=0
   model_light_l
   {
      file=wing.dof
   }
   cockpit_start=1
   cockpit_length=1



But for some reason doesn't show up in racer.

Any ideas?
Logged

Cosmo°
荒木雷
GTapex R&D
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1730


32サイドアップ


« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2004, 10:01:03 AM »

Did you update the shader, too? You have to add a line in there, as well:

shader_materialname
{
copy shiny/non-shiny shader lines from any shader here, as you like it to be - with the according
map=wingtexture.tga
}
Logged



いつでも、どこでも、スモーキー
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2004, 07:46:32 PM »

hmmm, I'm unsure where to place this "shader" info in the INI, I really don't play racer often, I was just inspired to make FSR's car the one day.lol

I'd like to finish this and send it to FSR just for fun.


on a side note:
Need more screenies of his car, I only have a side shot, and no front and rear shots.

Thanks for your help Cosmo
Logged

Cosmo°
荒木雷
GTapex R&D
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1730


32サイドアップ


« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2004, 09:33:25 AM »

It doesn't go in the ini, but the car.shd file. You need one to display everything coreectly in the beta .52+ versions.

There are a couple of videos with Fredriks car on the net - www.drifting.com forums, for example and of course somewhere on his site www.kamikazedrifters.no .
I think he's busy at the moment, 'cause there is D1 UK in Ireland coming up - this weekend, if I recall it right huh Not sure...
Logged



いつでも、どこでも、スモーキー
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2004, 01:08:18 AM »

LOL

I have no shader file to edit..... :freak:

Anyways, I have no idea how to mod for racer, I'm just dabbling in something different for a change.

Anyone who wants to finish it go ahead.
Logged

Cosmo°
荒木雷
GTapex R&D
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1730


32サイドアップ


« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2004, 09:29:37 AM »

What version of Racer are you running? If you have a newer beta, I could throw in a quick shader for you.
Logged



いつでも、どこでも、スモーキー
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2004, 03:00:32 PM »

0.5.2

I can send you the whole car if you'd like, via msn, etc


I tried putting it up for download on here, but the filesize is just to large.


DiscoQuinn@hotmail.com
Logged

Cosmo°
荒木雷
GTapex R&D
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1730


32サイドアップ


« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2004, 03:18:32 PM »

I got the Ueo version myself... wait a sec, I'll see if the shader works.

edit: Well, not the best, but it's the standard one, quickly reworked by me - at least you have a shader now wink
Logged



いつでも、どこでも、スモーキー
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2004, 03:59:09 PM »

First, do I need to edit the INI for it to use the shader?

And can I just open up the shader with note pad? to add the wing texture?
Logged

Cosmo°
荒木雷
GTapex R&D
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1730


32サイドアップ


« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2004, 04:05:41 PM »

Quote from: "discoquinn"
First, do I need to edit the INI for it to use the shader?

no

Quote
And can I just open up the shader with note pad?

yes

Quote
to add the wing texture?

take a look at the other lines - it should always be shader_materialname ... map=texture.tga
I don't know what materialnames the wing has, so I can't tell you exactly, but you should be able to find out.
Logged



いつでも、どこでも、スモーキー
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2004, 10:09:56 PM »

Quote

shader_corstrwhl
{
  layer0
  {    
    map=corstrwhl.tga
    shininess=128
    specular= .02 .02 .02
    diffuse= .9 .9 .9
    ambient= .18 .18 .18
  }
}

shader_brakes
{
  layer0
  {
    map=glass.tga
    emission=1 1 1 1
  }
}
shader_wing
{
  layer0
  {    
    map=CWwing1.tga
    shininess=128
    specular= .02 .02 .02
    diffuse= .9 .9 .9
    ambient= .18 .18 .18
  }
}


Well this is what I added to the shader file, but the wing still doesn't seem to show up, even though I added it in the INI, replacing the "lights.dof"

Maybe my exporting form Zmodeler was incorrect, as I'm a uber n00b with zmod (I love my 3dsmax, too much.)
Logged

Cosmo°
荒木雷
GTapex R&D
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1730


32サイドアップ


« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2004, 09:39:24 AM »

Can you post the wing's dof. file? I'll try it myself then. Smiley
Logged



いつでも、どこでも、スモーキー
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2004, 07:07:01 PM »

lol $5 it's my horrible inexperience with zmod.....AGGGG
Logged

Cosmo°
荒木雷
GTapex R&D
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1730


32サイドアップ


« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2004, 04:56:13 AM »

Hm, the file you posted was a 0kb .dof (and the teture). So I took the C-West wing and imported both the body.dof and the CwestGT2.dof in ZMod, moved the wing to it's place, scaled it, moved again and finally exported only the wing. Add the .dof under model_light_l and fired up Racer. Wing was there, just glowing white (because of no shader). Enter

shader_wing
{
layer0
{
map=CWwing0.tga
}
}

in the .shd file and voila, it's displayed correctly. Not sure what you might have done wrong, though smiley
Logged



いつでも、どこでも、スモーキー
discoquinn
User
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 525


Speed Hero


WWW
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2004, 11:23:47 PM »

lmao, I'm just an idiot, that's all. hahahha

I'm a zmodeler noob, and didn't know how to export Dof's properly!

Thanks for all your help Cosmo
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!